A Prayer for the Stressed

A whimsical look at a prayer for modern times in case you haven’t seen it before previously (22nd Blog Your Blessings Sunday)

t-shirt.jpg
Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I cannot accept, and the wisdom to hide the bodies of the people I had to kill today because they made me mad. Also, help me to be careful of the toes I step on today, as they may be attached to the ass I may have to kiss tomorrow.

Help me to always give 100% at work:-
Monday – 12%
Tuesday – 23%
Wednesday – 40%
Thursday – 20%
Friday – 5%

And help me to always remember… When I’m having a really bad day, and it seems that people are *trying* to piss me off, that it takes 42 muscles to frown and only 4 to extend my middle finger.

Amen!

15 thoughts on “A Prayer for the Stressed

  1. Muahahahahaha
    Not so much of something the young should learn so soon eh
    However said that, I guess it will be not a prayer but a recipe for success

    Stev: Shhh. Not so loud else em young uns might overhear 😛

    I think the main thing it’s trying to say is… ‘relak-laarr’

  2. wow… i sooooo agree to tat! CHEERS mate!!
    ^_^
    p.s only difference is tat when i give 100% at work it’s:-
    Monday – 5%
    Tuesday – 5%
    Wednesday – 5%
    Thursday – 5%
    Friday – 1%
    saturday + sunday – 79% play

    Stev: LOL. That’s a super-flawed equation there. Glad that you can achieve so much with just 5%!

  3. I bought that tshirt for my husband. He loves it. People will come up and say, “I just love that t-shirt.” Then they read the entire thing and they look up horrified and walk off. LOL

    Stev: Can just imagine the expressions on their faces *chuckles*. neat story.

  4. i have that prayer for the stressed picture actually
    http://chaosboredom.blogspot.com/2005/10/day-nine.html
    which of course… i printed it out and put it in my room door when i was in campus. and now that im no longer there, i stuck it outside my room door. so the first thing you see will be that!
    at this point, i’d wish i could tell the whole world that….

    Stev: Wow. You actually searching it out of your archives back from 2005! Mmm. Maybe I should put it on my cubicle door too…

  5. stev,
    I love the original prayer, but also love the make-overs for it! You could go on and on with those. Blessings to you on this day.

    Stev: It’s all fun & games. Have a great week ahead there too Lorna!

  6. It’s good to see someone approach life in such a lite and humorous way. Why choose to be unhappy when you could always chose to live each day in happiness. It’s your choice. You’ve got it right! I love that T-shirt too.

    Stev: Hmmm. Very simple yet deep-ringing truth there. Life’s all bout choices huh.

  7. i will be sure to make use the 4 muscles more often instead of the 42 to frown
    you’re my blessing love ya.

    Stev: I wonder how many muscles it takes to curse tho. Stress release & exercise all in one!

    Love ya too lil gal 😉

  8. Goodness me. Your version’s not bad… I like the apportioning of the % tho. Can I borrow it for my own use. Kakakakaa.

    Stev: Yeah we all need to learn to use our time by % wisely 😉

    Incidentally then employers should take note that Wednesday is the most productive day in the week…

  9. nah.. didnt have to dig like really browse through the whole archive.

    kinda knew when i used it. was my luck that i’ve got it on the first search…. and yet at the top post :p

    we all should have one in the house…!

Leave your thoughts

