Winds of Change

I am a firm believer that the government should be the representation the rakyat for the nations well-being. I am also one of those so called “silent majority” and “vote based on the candidate, not the party” – despite all the criticism on that.
Disclaimer: All views portray my POV at the time of writing & does not reflect any companies or individuals that I am affiliated-with in any manner
Note: Extra long post today being twice the length

winds_of_change_by_peterzz

StevBlogs
In April 2007, I made a conscious decision to change the focus of my (old) blog from being more whimsical & random to a more focused are for discourse & discussion. This also reflected in my choice of blogging platform to WP as (a then) more simpler interface so I could focus more on what I wanted to do — write & talk with online people from various backgrounds. In Dec 2007, I lost my online anonymity as well be going public with setting up an online homebaked business. How else can people trust you if you are anonymous or just a page on the internet?

I would most certainly not classify my blog as a political one (and I carefully avoid any specific talk about work to be professional to both my company & customers). Yet today we are moving forward again with a conscious decision that the blog may occasionally contain matters of politics or thoughts as despite how we view politics as often dirty, politics actually at the heart of it is about our lives – both yours & mine. In short, my blog is going a bit more personal & direct as that’s how I feel blogs & communication in general needs to be.

winds_of_change_by_enslavedbymetal

Work Developing People
On a minor contradiction to what I wrote of above, I am going to touch a bit on work as well. I do owe readers 😉 an explanation as well on my sporadic postings (will continue to be sporadic in the month of March due to work commitments). A major work transition is going on for myself & I find myself facing a challenging yet excitingly refreshing task (despite the ungodly hours put in to work) to plan, discuss, change & act to most importantly make the workplace better for all my employees, to exceed all my customers expectations & to expand the business.

Without going too much into specifics – candid honest communication, stabilization of teams, rewarding those who perform well, & growing/grooming up new leaders are my main general focus & commitments. Transitioning out of my previous department, I do hope that my report card from my staff shows that I have achieved better communication, stabilization & hopefully helped to develop passion and nurture growth in all the wonderful individuals in my team.

Penang, Malaysia and More
[Starting out writing this 3rd section, I realized almost immediately that 2 paragraphs wouldn’t do it justice. Continued in the next post. – Stev]

Thank You!
A big thank you to all who has been visiting, commenting (I love discussions! – that’s what this blog is for), and the zany inane people who flood my chat page

14 thoughts on “Winds of Change

  1. As I always said in mandarin, the sky has eyes, people still remember what the goons done in those 4 years.

  2. The people is tired w/ their poor governance and it’s high time for a big change for a better future and Malaysia. After all, a year has passed since the 50th Independence Day.

    (:

  3. Delighted to hear your online voice again, Stev. I’m looking forward to whatever comes next. Sounds like work is going very well. Good for you, and God bless!

  4. @YungJie: very true saying that 😉

    @kyels: balance* in all things is needed & if we are really ‘katak di bawah tempurung’** then we are in serious trouble ^_^
    * balance as in REAL balance not meaning scales on a blue background 😛
    ** malay proverb literally translated as ‘frog beneath a coconut shell’ – the only worldly knowing being what is within that cramped little space

    @sandy: it’s good to be back. so many blogs to read from all u guys to catch up on what’s been happening! still going to be busy with work these next couple of weeks but hope will be able to sneak some time in for blog reading =)
    thanks for the wishes & i sure do hope so as well! 😀

  5. Stev, we were worried about you.

    I hope everything is going well and that the politics will not cause you grief.

    Angels on your country.

  6. if u keep dat corporate traits & skills…may be well on ur way for a ‘CEO material”. and when u get there…keep business & politics separate, better still…keep politics out of sight, if that makes any sense 🙂

  7. @cybercelt: apologies for causing any worries 😛 – Things are going well though in general & yet still looking forward on various changes happening at a nice moderate pace (hopefully…)

    @neo: ooo. i want a report card! 😀

    @mirror~me: keke. thanks for the compliment. agreed that business & politics should not be bed partners. nor should prosti… err… but i digress 😉

  8. Hello,

    My name is Skylar. I just spent some time digging through your great blog and I found it very engaging. I’m contacting you to ask if you are interested in blog post sponsorship.

    If you are, please e-mail me back and I will send you pricing details, guidelines and processes. Looking forward to hearing from you.

    Kind regards,

    Skylar Sinclaire

  9. @skylar: no thank you. part of the reason i moved out of blogger to wordpress was to concentrate more on writing rather then trying to make $ from blogging

  10. (One of the) things I like about goals and decisions is that, while they signify a focus, they don’t mean that you can’t decide to change your goals etc. later. In fact, I’ve been known to ‘revisit’ my decisions on a daily basis 8-D

    My roundabout way of saying a change in focus is a good thing.

Leave your thoughts

