Making Decisions

It has been a torrid couple of weeks at work with pressures within & without towards moving what is hopefully for the best for all. Still, surprisingly to myself, my conscience remains clear & each day I go through remains filled with a sense of peace & well-being. Come what may.

Photo Credit: rays of reflection by ssilence

Decisions! Decisions! Decisions!
Ranging from the big to small. From the mundane to the extraordinary. We live each & every one of our days making decisions whether consciously or automatically going through the motions.

Have you ever pondered how you make these decisions? How is your decision making process like? Do you ponder & agonize over every single action? Or do you blow through everything with a devil may care attitude?

The Choices we Make
Today are the steps we move our futures on. How sometimes the smallest of things can have the biggest of impacts. Scary sometimes. Perplexing. Worrying. Yet the ultimate underlying matter is that your choices move you where you want to go. Whether that means you write down your goals or simply follow your gut feelings, that’s all there is to it.

Chaos may be fun, until the day after when you wake up from the overdose of drugs & sex with someone you’d puke looking at in RL. Not so fun now is it, no matter how the media or others try to sell how glamorous things are. Wake up, bud.

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveller, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I–
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference

~Robert Frost (The Road Not Taken)

The Point of No Return
Actually doesn’t really exist. A lot of people have proven to be inspirations to stop whatever they were doing for whatever reasons, and to strike out a new path or even a full U-turn. There’s never a too old or too late until you hit six feet. And if after proper time & thought, it’s perfectly ok to change your decision no matter if your critics lambast you as being wishy-washy or two-faced.

Follow your heart. And believe.

PS. Don’t be a cynic about the poem 😉

Question
How have the decisions you made influenced your life today?

22 thoughts on “Making Decisions

  1. Question
    How have the decisions you made influenced your life today?

    Answer
    So far so good 😉

  2. Don’t be so stress…enjoy life! Yeah, you are still young and single. Look at me… married, 2 children and working mom! WOW…that’s something to juggle.

  3. @jem: a very lucky (& happy) person indeed, you are then =)

    @su ann: hi there! =) and how do you think you’ve fared based on the decisions you’ve made at the various intersections of your life?

    @wsg: haha. ok. new car. new girl. blooming career. life ain’t bad eh? 😉

    @pet:mmm. well stress is good. up to a certain point anyway 😉 still you’re pretty good at juggling everything. wow. can’t really think of you as a mom of 2 somehow (although obviously i know that already :P)

  4. @Stev: Well honestly wats more important is a nice girl and good friends to Live Out Life with.. or life would be damn stinking bored! 😉

  5. Beautiful post, Stev. You’ve touched my heart, and you are in my thoughts. I have learned recently to follow my bliss, to love with a full heart. It has changed my life. God bless.

  6. i think if a decision made in the past doesnt work out as it ought to be (or planned to be) in the present, again it’s another decision made now – to live with it? to drag it? or to change it. i guess we’re always making decisions.

    im kinda grateful of my decision to stay put in KL (eheheh…) and meet more new great people. know a few idiots along the way. tahan the workstress. enjoy movie outings. i get what i want. and i dont get what i wished for. all decisions made we just have to bear the consequences.

    sometimes, i get tired having to think the pros and cons… and follow nike instead. but, that cant be applied in everything. so yes, cow brains to think. jeez… lazy at times!

  7. @wsg: def can’t disagree with that school of thought 😉

    @sandy: mmm. following the bliss. definitely sounds like a plan. would love to know more about how you headed towards that direction, some day if we have the time.

    @chao: true that many decisions are made. sometimes quite near to one another. and oft contradictory. glad that KLs truly a blast when viewed as a whole =)

  8. I kept making them decisions… But I haven’t got the time to go make them real yet… Haha… How’ve you been after all these while?

  9. I love Robert Frost. I read his poetry in 8th grade for a project and have not forgotten all of it, though it has been 40 years.

    I believe every decision is a possible future, a pathway to the next stage of our life. Right now, I am battling disease and not sure if I wish to place my life in the hands of doctors. This decision will be important in my life. My decision to have my son and raise him as a single parent opened a life I had never even thought about until that moment when I decided, ‘Yes, he is my son and I will raise him.’

    Change is good and it takes a decision to make a change. Of course, life decisions are harder (marriage, moving, buying a home, having children, etc.), but sometimes it is the little decisions that invade my dreams. “What if…?”

    Great post.

  10. @ian: keke. well at least that’s the 1st step done rite? 😉
    I’ve been busy but good. Growing well methinks :>

    @cybercelt: mmm. robert frost is a fav of many.
    all the best to you making the best decision. follow your heart/gut feelings!
    mayhaps to view what ifs as a reflection of other possibilities but yet it’s important to ensure that the what ifs do not negatively haunt you though

  11. That poem’s a favourite of mine, and has actually been set to music; I sing it fairly often. Remind me to find you a copy one of these days.

  12. follow our feelings. take an example, when i feel like reading your blog, then i’ll stick with it, then there’ll be more n more nice posts coming up from u. see, we love something, we go for it, and we’ll attract more of it~

    nice post nice post!

  13. countless! good or bad, it has indeed 🙂
    surely some decisions will turn & bite u hard in the arse but wotever decisions u make…do it with no regrets, or maybe learn to not regret 🙂

  14. @cairsten: hi you. looking forward to it.

    @bb: mmm. i think i would agree with you on following your feelings. sounds like the law of attraction or something? lol 😛

    @bz~bee: and how would we learn not to regret? 😉

  15. Stev: @bz~bee: and how would we learn not to regret? 😉

    I totally agree wif bz-bee 🙂 Why??

    Answer:
    1.) Regreting about it changes nothing :p Learning from it, Getting over it and Moving on DOES 😀

    2.) If u had “Decided differently and Acted on it” then wat u HAD decided originally it could’ve be a whole SHITLOAD WORSE!! :p

  16. Decisions, decisions 🙂

    Much of my life today is a product of my decisions. Most of the time, I don’t have a problem with them, though I can take forever to make them.

    The things that give me grief are the situations where I don’t feel like the decision is mine to make :-S

  17. @wsg: 1. mmm. true. or having a very short memory/hard head to bang against the wall helps too ^_^
    2. Wow. That’s really positively negative! 😛

    @whatever: taking time is a good thing no although it may grief ppl around you? :- P Hmm. mayhaps we can cheat by pretending we have an illusion of control to how we react to the situation?

  18. The only problem I have is lack of sleep… Who has enough sleep, let me know, how you do it? Stress level is moderate. 🙂

  19. @bzb: kinda sadistic. but would probly work :S

    @pet: mmm. sleep early & not have kids or all night long sex? 😛
    good to hear that stress is at manageable levels

Leave your thoughts

