Expectations of a Manager

The other side of the story to Expectations of a Direct Report — Interesting key points on what most people expect from their Top Managers/CEO/GM/Leaders in a company. Have a great weekend! (posted a couple of days in advance as will be busy from Friday to the weekend)

Photo Credit: Donald Trump 2 by themeguy

Clear Direction
• Where the business is going, why & what are the benefits if we accomplish it
• Every quarter, the boss should get up in front of the team & explain the financial results & the progress of any operational/strategic initiative

Set Goals & Objectives
• Each person should know EXACTLY what individual goals he/she are going to be measured on over a given period & where to invest precious time
• When goals & objectives are clear, promotions & bonus decisions can be based on merit
• Morale suffers if people think there’s some mystery behind the process
• People are much happier & more comfortable when they’re working in a meritocracy

Give Frequent, Specific & Immediate Feedback
• What he does well
• What he can do better
• How he & his boss can work together to fill any gaps

Be Decisive & Timely
• Give clear, unambiguous answers
• Input from boss when there’s much time BEFORE, not when it’s last minute & having a crisis

Be Accessible
• If I expect people to keep me informed about what’s going on, I need to be available when they see me
• Most people only turn to the boss when they need help

Demonstrate Honesty & Candor
• Don’t spend too much time on how to deliver news in a diplomatic way
• Be direct, yet objective & honest

Offer an Equitable Compensation Plan
• People want to be compensated fairly, in a way that reflects their contributions & they want to understand how the compensation works

Question
What do you expect from your boss? 😉

9 thoughts on “Expectations of a Manager

  1. I have had so many bosses that played it so close to the vest, I did not know what was going on. We all need to know the big picture, of how we fit into the puzzle.

    I was hired by this man who interviewed me mercilessly for 3 hours. I asked for an honest review of my duties and he gave it to me, I thought.

    He neglected to mention that he had enraged the entire IT department, so if I needed a computer, I would have to get it myself. He also did not tell me that one of my coworkers was a psycho who stalked the last person who sat in my chair. Needless to say, I did not keep that job very long. I finished the project I was working on and said, “bye.”

  2. @cybercelt: true that knowing the org’s goal & how we fit into it is of very high importance.

    whoa… definitely good to get out of that seat ASAP!

  3. “What do you expect from your boss?”

    Sadly, I expect someone that is lazy — they will do the absolute minimum in order to get buy. I expect someone that will shrink from the odious tasks of management such as giving decent feedback or rebuking people for inappropriate behavior. I expect someone cowardly, that will fail to stand up for their own beliefs and be even less motivated to stand up for mine.

    These are things that I expect, not things that I hope for.

  4. @whatever: mmm. good points raised. maybe i should re-word the question though 😉

    @sandy: ahh. the dreaded double-talk! for the want of a straight answer with people actually saying what they mean & meaning what they say. even if it’s a different person, time or situation.

Leave your thoughts

